2015: G7 PDP aspirants insist on Ibadan consensus candidate


By Bisi Oladele

The Group of Seven (G7) governorship aspirants in the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Oyo State who hail from Ibadan, the state capital, insisted yesterday on producing a candidate for the next election. In a communique issued after its meeting, the group explained that its insistence was based on the  recognition of the political realities in the state. However, the group said it has never excluded other zones in the governorship arrangements of the party.

Read More

The group said: “We are aware of similar meetings at various zones of the state for the governorship slot.” The G7 emphasised that each state has its own political peculiarities. It said it was “concerned about winning the next governorship election and forming the next government in Oyo State and therefore encourages contributions and ideas on the best strategies to achieve the objective.” The group’s goal drew criticism from Ogbomoso where two other aspirants hail from. They are the immediate former governor, Adebayo Alao-Akala and Senator Ayoade Adeseun. Alao-Akala boasted that he would defeat them. Adeseun said Ogbomoso did not anoint Alao-Akala as the sole candidate. He said the members of the G7 were only exercising their fundamental human right. Adeseun said the decision of PDP members in Ogbomoso was to support whoever wins the governorship ticket in any of the political parties, believing that his success in the election would bring benefits to the zone.

Members of the G7 are Dr Wole Oyelese, Alhaji Hazeem Gbolarumi, Prof. Taoheed Adedoja, Prof. Soji Adejumo, Sen. Teslim Folarin, Seyi Makinde and Dr. Azeez Adeduntan.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *