35 Additional Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) has been finalized in Oyo State


Process towards the creation of 35 additional Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) in Oyo State has been finalized.

This followed the passage into law of the local government (further) amendment bill, 2016 by the House of Assembly, on Tuesday.


It will be recalled that the executive had earlier forwarded the bill to the assembly to amend the local government law 2002 which recommended the creation of 14 local government areas in Ibadan zone, eight in Oke-Ogun, seven in Ogbomosho, four in Oyo and two for Ibarapa zone.

Key in the amendment report, as presented by Chairman, Committee on Local Government, Chieftaincy Matters, Honorable Bolaji Badmos, was the change in the nomenclature from local government areas to local council development areas.

Meanwhile, the Nigerian Tribune observed that the exit gate of the state secretariat was locked while armoured personnel carrier and armed police officers were at the entrance of the secretariat for the period of the Assembly’s plenary.

It was gathered that security was tightened based on intelligence reports that some protesters would storm the secretariat to vent their displeasure at the assembly’s proceedings where the creation of the additional local councils was to be approved.

While stamping the creation of the 35 additional local councils, Speaker, Honorable Michael Adeyemo, noted that some memoranda on further creation of LCDAs had been received.

For further consideration of the new memoranda, the assembly set up another ad hoc committee headed by Majority Leader, Honorable Kehinde Subair.

Other members of the committee are Honourable Olagunju Ojo, Oyetunji Peter, Ademola Ige, Olusegun Ajanaku, Olusegun Olaleye and Bolaji Badmus.

In a motion, Honorable Gbenga Oyekola representing Atiba constituency urged proprietors of private schools in the state to consider today’s challenging economy in charging and collecting school fees.

Furthermore, consideration of the bill for a law to further amend Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso Law, 1990 by Deputy Speaker, Honorable Abdulwasi Musah and member representing Ogbomosho South, Honorable Olukayode Akande has commenced.

(Edited by Olamide Michael)


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *