Florence Ajimobi, Pat Nebo, 3 others grab Famous 5 award at UI


The Union of Campus Journalist, University of Ibadan chapter, last Thursday awarded five prominent individuals in an occasion tagged “The Famous 5 Award.” The event, which was held at First Bank Auditorium, awarded the First Lady of Oyo State, Florence Ajimobi; Sunday Olajide, Deputy Managing Director of National Mirror newspaper; Professor Olaniran Kolawole, former Dean Faculty of Education; Pat Nebo, an art designer and Jimi Tewe, a motivational speaker.

Read More

In his welcome address, the President, Kayode Folayemi said: “Today, we celebrate heroes in various spheres of life. We celebrate those that have decided to make themselves different from others. We celebrate excellence and those that believe service to humanity is the best work of life.”

He, however, added that the “awardees had given back to the community and their works were visible for all and sundry to emulate.”

In his remarks, the chairman of NUJ, Oyo State chapter, Comrade Gbenga Opadotun said: “The awardees deserve the award, especially my former boss at the Nigerian Tribune, Sunday Olajide; and I commend this union for identifying and encouraging these awardees.”

He, however, charged the youths present at the occasion to emulate the good works of these awardees and be good citizens that will meet up with the yearning of the citizens.

Speaking on behalf of the awardees, Professor Kolawole thanked the Union of Campus Journalists in the university for the award given to them, adding that “it’s a privilege for them to be honoured by students and also an encouragement for them to take more giant strides in the society.”

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *